Book Review: Life After Theft by Aprilynne Pike

Life After Theft CoverBook: Life After Theft by Aprilynne Pike

Published April 2013 by HarperCollins|226 pages

Where I Got It: I own the e-book

Series: Life After Theft #1

Genre: YA Paranormal/Ghosts

Blog Graphic-What It's AboutAprilynne Pike, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Wings series, shines in this stand-alone novel that offers a humorous twist on ghosts and is perfect for fans of Ally Carter, Rachel Hawkins, and Kiersten White.

Kimberlee Schaffer may be drop-dead gorgeous…but she also dropped dead last year. Now she needs Jeff’s help with her unfinished business, and she’s not taking no for an answer. When she was alive, Kimberlee wasn’t just a mean girl; she was also a complete kleptomaniac. So if Jeff wants to avoid being haunted until graduation, he’ll have to help her return all of the stolen items. But Jeff soon discovers that it’s much easier to steal something than it is to bring it back.

Paying for your mistakes takes on a whole new meaning in this hauntingly clever twist on The Scarlet Pimpernel.

Blog Graphic- What I Thought

I’ve been a huge fan of Aprilynne Pike ever since I read her Wings series, and I knew it was finally time to pick up Life After Theft!

I liked it, and Kimberlee is definitely sarcastic, which I thought added some really interesting but funny moments between her and Jeff.  I really liked Jeff, and Kimberlee was pretty unlikeable, especially in contrast to Sera. Especially once we start learning more about Kimberlee when she was alive, and that made me like her even less. I didn’t mind not liking her, though, with Sera, we see how much Sera tried to change, while Kimberlee seemed to be stuck and unable to move past anything…not just in death, but in life too.  Kimberlee is pretty selfish, and I think she does start to realize how wrong her past actions were, but it was a little too late.

Jeff really was the perfect person to see Kimberlee, though.  He’s new in town, and he doesn’t know Kimberlee, and he’s such a good guy that he was willing to help return all of the stuff she stole.  It is interesting that he’s the only one who would see her, and it does sort of make me wonder why he could see her when no one else could.  Him being new probably has a lot to do with, but now that I think about it, I wonder if there are other reasons for it was him, and no one else.

I also kind of wish we saw more of Kimberlee’s perspective.  I’m not the biggest fan of dual narration, but I think it could have worked really well in this book.  Still, even though Kimberlee was a character I didn’t like, and even though she did some pretty horrible things, she was still an interesting character, and maybe seeing at least a chapter or two from her perspective would have changed how I saw her.  Or maybe not, but either way, I wouldn’t have minded that at all.

As a re-telling of The Scarlet Pimpernel…I’ve never read it, and I have no idea what it’s about, but I have heard of it. So, I don’t know if that’s why I liked it, and didn’t love it, and if it would have made a difference in how I felt about the characters, or if I still would have felt the same way about the book.  And I obviously can’t speak to how it is as a re-telling.

Blog Graphic- My Rating

3 stars.  I liked it, especially the characters and how witty some of them were.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s