Book: Into The Bright Unknown by Rae Carson

Book: Into The Bright Unknown by Rae Carson

Published October 2017 by Greenwillow Books|343 pages

Where I Got It: I borrowed the hardcover from the library

Series: The Gold Seer Trilogy #3

Genre: YA Historical Fiction

The stunning conclusion to Rae Carson’s New York Times–bestselling Gold Seer trilogy, which Publishers Weekly in a starred review called “Simply terrific.” A historical fantasy brimming with magic, romance, and adventure—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Sarah Maas, and Westworld.

Leah Westfall, her fiancé Jefferson, and her friends have become rich in the California Territory, thanks to Lee’s magical ability to sense precious gold. But their fortune has made them a target, and when a dangerous billionaire sets out to destroy them, Lee and her friends decide they’ve had enough—they will fight back with all their power and talents. Lee’s magic is continuing to strengthen and grow, but someone is on to her—someone who might have a bit of magic herself. The stakes are higher than ever as Lee and her friends hatch a daring scheme that could alter the California landscape forever. With a distinctive young heroine and a unique interpretation of American history, Into the Bright Unknown strikes a rich vein of romance, magic, and adventure, bringing the Gold Seer Trilogy to its epic conclusion.

I’ve really liked this series, and I thought this last book was a pretty good ending to a pretty interesting series.

What I liked the most was seeing how much Lee’s ability changed, and how she became more okay with using it.  I also liked seeing her discover how to develop her ability, and how there are other people with abilities out there.  I really wish we saw more of that, because I was surprised that other people had their own special abilities.  I know the series is focused on Lee and what she can do but I still wish we saw more of what other people could do.

It’s weird, though, I don’t really see it as a historical fantasy series.  I mean, even though there’s Lee, who can sense gold, it still wasn’t enough to make it a fantasy.  At least for me.  It was a lot more historical that fantasy, and there was enough going on that wasn’t related to Lee’s ability that I don’t really see it as a fantasy.

We don’t see any more of Lee’s uncle, and I am curious about what trouble he’s up to.  Instead, we see a lot more of the guy that her uncle was working for/owed money to.  I wondered if we’d see him again, and what role he would play in this book.  He is not a good guy, let’s just say that.

Lee and her friends really do go through a lot.  I’m glad things worked out for Mrs. Joyner and getting her things, but of course, there are some bumps along the way.  It really was sad she couldn’t sign for her things, and that she had to rely on her father-in-law to come sign it for everything.  I really felt for her and Lee (plus all of the other woman like them), who did everything they could to survive, but still couldn’t get everything they wanted because they were women.  Hopefully things got better for them, and that things calmed down for all of them after the end of the book.

I’m still not a fan of the romance between Lee and Jefferson.  Even though it’s been a minimal part of the series, and very much relegated to the background, I could have done without it completely.  It felt like they had no chemistry whatsoever, and it really did feel like they were together because they didn’t have anyone else.  To be honest, I thought she had more chemistry with the college students than she did with Jefferson.  Lee seemed happy with Jefferson, though, and that’s important, even though I wasn’t thrilled with their relationship.

4 stars.  I didn’t love it, and it was a little predictable at times, but I still really enjoyed it.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s