Book Review: Conspiracy Of Blood And Smoke by Anne Blankman

Conspiracy Of Blood And Smoke CoverBook: Conspiracy Of Blood And Smoke by Anne Blankman

Published April 2015 by Balzer + Bray|325 pages

Where I Got It: I checked out the e-book from the library

Series: Prisoner Of Night And Fog #2

Genre: YA Historical Fiction

Blog Graphic-What It's About

Acclaimed author Anne Blankman returns to the shadowy and dangerous world of 1930s Germany in this thrilling sequel to Prisoner of Night and Fog, perfect for fans of Code Name Verity.

The girl known as Gretchen Whitestone has a secret: She used to be part of Adolf Hitler’s inner circle. More than a year after she made an enemy of her old family friend and fled Munich, she lives in England, posing as an ordinary German immigrant, and is preparing to graduate from high school. Her love, Daniel, is a reporter in town. For the first time in her life, Gretchen is content.

But then Daniel gets a telegram that sends him back to Germany, and Gretchen’s world turns upside down. When she receives word that Daniel is wanted for murder, she has to face the danger she thought she’d escaped—and return to her homeland.

Gretchen must do everything she can to avoid capture, even though saving Daniel will mean consorting with her former friends, the Nazi elite. And as they work to clear Daniel’s name, Gretchen and Daniel discover a deadly conspiracy stretching from the slums of Berlin to the Reichstag itself. Can they dig up the explosive truth and get out in time—or will Hitler discover them first?

Blog Graphic- What I Thought

I really liked Conspiracy Of Blood And Smoke!  It’s a really good follow-up to Prisoner Of Night And Fog, and while I didn’t like it as much as the first book, I still really liked it!

I think what I love most about this book (much like its predecessor) is that it takes places in the years leading up to World War 2.  And that it’s about a girl who used to be a part of Hitler’s inner circle.  I think why I like it so much is because it’s such a different take on World War 2, and I feel like it’s a story that isn’t told often in historical fiction.  Well, from what I’ve read, but I could be wrong on that.  Still, this really is one of my favorite aspects of the book because you do see the events that take place before World War 2.

While Prisoner Of Night had events that were seen up close, in Conspiracy, we see them viewed from a distance.  Which still made the book interesting to me, because I feel like it added something different.  Being far away, and knowing what was happening, but not how bad, and getting the feeling that everyone else doesn’t realize how bad things are.

I really am impressed with the amount of research that Blankman has done.  I really felt like she knew much more about what was going on than I ever will, and those details really came across throughout the book.  I loved the author’s note at the end, as well as the selected bibliography.

Part of me also wants another book in the series, because I really felt like there was more to Gretchen and Daniel’s story, but at the same time, it was also a good way to end this duology.  And even though we know what will happen, I still spent most of the wanting and hoping for a different outcome, even knowing it wouldn’t happen.

As for Gretchen and Daniel, I liked that they struggled with the idea that maybe things wouldn’t work out between them.  I’m still not sure how I feel about their relationship, because I found the historical stuff much more interesting.  But things weren’t easy for them, and I did like that, because they had to fight for it.  And after everything they’ve been through, I felt like their relationship had something that wasn’t there for me in the first book.

Blog Graphic- My Rating

4 stars.  I really liked Conspiracy, and I’m looking forward to any historical fiction that Blankman writes, especially if they’re as well-researched as this one!  I also loved that we get see what Germany was like before World War 2 starts.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Conspiracy Of Blood And Smoke by Anne Blankman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s