What I’ve Been Reading: Part Two

I thought I’d share some of the books I read earlier in the year and never got around to reviewing.  I talked about some of the books I read earlier in the year in this post, and figured I do another post since I had some more books to talk about.  All of the books were from the library.

Book One: The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

What I Thought:

  • So, The Invisible Library is about Irene, a spy for a very mysterious Library, and her quest to retrieve a dangerous book from an alternate London
  • It’s a really good read-alike if you like the Eyre Affair…but instead of going into books, you’re going into parallel dimensions and alternate worlds to take their books for the sake of preservation and research
  • The library has a life of its own, and the librarians seem like an interesting bunch
  • I really want to know more about the librarians.  We get a little bit of the hierarchy and structure of the library, but not a lot, and I’m hoping we get more
  • The way I feel about the librarians is the same way I feel about the Library.  We get a general idea of the library and how it works but I want more
  • It is the first book in a series, so it is setting up for future books.  Hopefully we’ll see more
  • There are a lot of possibilities, though.  I mean, they go into parallel dimensions to retrieve books, and there are a lot of possibilities for future books.  It would be interesting to see how things could possibly spiral out
  • My Rating: 3 stars.  It’s a fun book to read, and great if you like books about books and libraries, but I wanted more about the Library and the librarians who work there.

Book #2: Carve The Mark by Veronica Roth

What I Thought:

  • Carve The Mark is about Cyra, who is pretty much able to torture people, and Akos, who has some power I cannot remember
  • I was really excited about this book, because I loved the Divergent series (even Allegiant, which I know people either love or hate), but I did’t like it as much as a thought
  • Well…what I remember, which isn’t much
  • Honestly, even though it’s set in space, it felt like it could have been set anywhere.  I kind of forgot it was space in space most of the time
  • It was really slow and confusing and I wasn’t a big fan of the dual narration
  • I don’t remember a lot about the book, and I honestly can’t remember what I liked or didn’t like.  I know I read it, but that’s pretty much it
  • I think it could be an interesting read-alike for fans of Graceling and An Ember In The Ashes
  • I vaguely remember that it’s slightly interesting blend of sci-fi and fantasy- there are element of both, and it didn’t feel like it was one or the other
  • My Rating?  2 stars.  I don’t remember enough to dislike it, but I don’t remember enough to like it

Book Three: King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

What I Thought:

  • I really wish I re-read the first two books in the series first, because I had a hard time remembering what was going
  • I’m starting to like this series less and less, and I honestly thought this book was the last one
  • I was very surprised on learning this is, in fact, not the last book in the series.  I was disappointed with how it ended at first, because nothing felt resolved, but when I saw there were more books, the ending made a lot more sense
  • I was more bored reading this book than I was with the other books
  • Nothing stood out to me as interesting or memorable, and I couldn’t tell you a single thing that happened
  • I do like the overall premise of the series, and I am determined to finish it out…but part of me wonders if it’s being stretched out too much
  • Maybe I need to re-read the series before I make up my mind.  And maybe if I do re-read it, I’ll do an updated review
  • Rating: 2 stars.  It wasn’t very memorable, and I remember being bored when I was reading it.

Book #4: In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

What I Thought:

  • This book is bananas!
  • Seriously, what is going on with Clare and Nora?  Clare has some issues, as does Nora
  • I mean, Nora’s okay, but she was really hung up on a short-lived relationship that happened when she was 16.  I thought it was weird that she was so hung up on something that happened 10 years earlier
  • And Clare…I get that she was worried what people thought about her (don’t we all worry about that, to some degree?) but she took it to an extreme
  • To me, they acted a lot younger than they were.  Not that they have to act a certain way, just because they’re in their mid-twenties, but Clare in particular seemed very determined to get what she wanted
  • It was not as creepy as I thought it would be.  They’re in a cabin in the woods, and it’s pretty isolated from what I could tell.  But it was not at all creepy
  • I did want to keep reading, though, and to see who was killed and why.
  • Rating: I have to go with 2 stars on this one.  I just wanted something more creepy.
Advertisements

Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Glass Sword CoverBook: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Published February 2016 by HarperTeen|444  pages

Where I Got It: I borrowed the hardcover from library

Series: Red Queen #2

Genre: YA Fantasy

Blog Graphic- What I Thought

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

Blog Graphic- What I Thought

After reading The Red Queen earlier this year, I knew I had to read The Glass Sword, so when I saw it at the library, I knew I had to check it out!

I really liked it, and I feel like the more we learn, the more questions I have about what’s going on.  The ending to this book had me wondering what would happen next, and it makes me glad that I read the first two fairly close together. There’s going to be waiting for the next book, of course, but at the same time, that means plenty of time to read both Red Queen and Glass Sword again.

There is a lot going on, and we see quite a few new characters.  There were definitely times where I had trouble keeping up with who was who, and who had what ability, and what was going on, and so I found myself re-reading parts of it because I kept missing stuff.  It’s not Aveyard at all, it’s just me not paying a lot of attention. Maybe another read will help things sink in.

There’s a lot of action, and there weren’t any lulls, which kept me reading, because I wanted to know what would happen next.  I’d be really curious to see what this series would be like if it were adapted into a movie (or even a t.v. show) because there are definitely parts of it that seem made for being on screen.

I really wish Cal and Mare had more chemistry.  It’s nice to see a fantasy that’s light on romance- actually, it seems pretty rare- but at the same time, it seems like there might be something between them, and yet them together…something seemed off.  I did like Mare, who really is different than the Mare we see in the first book. She’s selfish and makes mistakes, and yet…she really has been through a lot, and became someone who wanted to protect the newbloods as much as she could.  We really see what this is doing to her, and how much it’s changing her…into a much different person, who seems less naive and a little bit more cruel.

And doing what she did at the end of the book…it’s definitely a cliff-hanger for sure, and it makes me wonder what’s in store for the books to come.  It’s sort of surprising, since this series is 4 books, and the way it ended is what you’d expect for the end of a 2nd book of a trilogy.

I didn’t mind it all that much, though, because it has me hooked.  And again, it really raises the stakes and makes you wonder what’s in store for the next 2 books.

Now that I think about it, something about Mare reminds me of Tris from the Divergent trilogy.  Going through the things that both Tris and Mare go through, it changes them.  It’s been a while since I’ve read Divergent, and I don’t really know why I was suddenly reminded of Tris, but they both had to make some tough decisions.  I don’t really know where I’m going with this, so I’ll leave it at that.

Blog Graphic- My Rating

4 stars.  There are definitely some twists and turns, and there’s quite the cliffhanger at the end!  I can’t wait to see what happens next!