Top Ten Tuesday Rewind: Top Ten Books For People Who Like The Iron Fey

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely folks over at The Broke And The Bookish.  Every week, bloggers share their own bookish top ten lists based on the topic of the week.  You can check out Ten Tuesdays here.

Blog Graphic- Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books For People Who Like The Iron Fey

It feels like it’s been a while since we’ve had a TTT rewind, where we get to revisit a past topic.  I’ve decided to revisit books for people who like The Iron Fey, because it is my most popular post ever, and I first did it 4 years ago, followed up by another post last year.

  1. Shadowshaper by Daniel Jose Older.  He blends Caribbean myths with the world we know really well.  I think people who like really interesting re-tellings will like this one.
  2. The Siren by Kiera Cass.  Sirens don’t seem to be popular as far as re-tellings go, but I like what Cass did with sirens.
  3. A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas.  If you like The Iron Fey, you’ll like this dark re-telling of Beauty And The Beast.
  4. And I Darken by Kiersten White.  Even though this is historical fiction, and The Iron Fey isn’t, it’s a good book for people who like The Iron Fey, because White does a gender-bent version of Vlad Dracula, and it’s pretty awesome.
  5. Ink And Bone by Rachel Caine.  Because it’s what the world would be like- if the Library Of Alexandria if it survived, and something about Ink Bone would be a good book for anyone who likes The Iron Fey.
  6. Guardian Of The Dead by Karen Healy.  It’s a good read-alike for The Iron Fey because this girl gets pulled into Maori mythology, and there’s quite a bit of adventure.
  7. Ash by Malinda Lo.  Because it’s such a great re-telling of Cinderella, and people who like the world of TIF will like the world we see in Ash.
  8. Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor.  Like Meghan, Sunny gets introduced to a world she never knew existed, and it’s really different than the world she knows.  The setting is really cool, and even though it’s very different then the one in The Iron Fey, it’s just as magical.
  9. An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir.  This one might seem random, but there is a certain atmosphere to both books that make me want to pair the two together.
  10. The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye.  This is another recommendation that might seem random, but I think The Crown’s Game is a good book if you like The Iron Fey because something about the politics of both worlds would make for an interesting pairing.
Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Rewind: Top Ten Books For People Who Like The Iron Fey

  1. So I haven’t read the Iron Fey series yet (shhh I know SHAME. But I’ll get to it! I picked up a few of the books at a library sale for like 50 cents each, so I just have to find book #1 and I’ll be good to go!) but I SOOOO loved The Crown’s Game, Ink and Bone and And I Darken!! So that makes me pretty sure I’m going to enjoy the Iron Fey when I get to it! *shrieks*

    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s