Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read If You Like…

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the lovely folks over at The Broke And The Bookish.  Every week, bloggers share their own bookish top ten lists based on the topic of the week.  You can check out Ten Tuesdays here.

Blog Graphic- Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Books To Read If You Like…

I really had to think about this one!  I thought it would be fun (and maybe a little easier) to come up with 10 different books/authors, because I had a few pairings that immediately came to mind when I saw the topic!  And it’s also fun to give under-the-radar recommendations for popular/well-known books and authors!

  1. If You Like Eleanor And Park by Rainbow Rowell, read like How To Say Goodbye In Robot by Natalie Standiford.  How To Say Goodbye In Robot is everything I wanted Eleanor And Park to be, but I think there’s a similar feel to both books.
  2. If you like Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, you will like Some Boys Are by Patty Blount.  Both deal with the same topic (rape), but Some Boys is much more about rape culture than Speak is.  Some Boys is a really good read-alike, though.
  3. If you like Toni Morrison, read Nnedi Okorafor.  I’ve only read a couple of Okorafor’s books, while I’ve read a few of Morrison’s books.  But I also think they have very distinct voices and stories they want to tell, which is why I think Okorafor is a good read-alike for Morrison.
  4. If you like Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton, read Taking Flight by Michaela DePrince.  Even though Tiny Pretty Things is fiction, and Taking Flight is a memoir, both highlight the world of ballet, particularly if you aren’t white.
  5. If you like The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot, read Does My Head Look Big In This? by Randa Abdel-Fattah.  Amal’s voice really reminded me of Mia’s, which makes it a great book for fans of the princess diaries.
  6. If you like Shrek, read The School For Good And Evil by Soman Chainani.  I know Shrek is a movie, but The School For Good And Evil is such a good read-alike for it that I couldn’t help but include it.
  7. If you like Downtown Abbey, read Manor Of Secrets by Katherine Longshore.  There may be better read-alikes out there, but I was really reminded of Downtown Abbey when reading it.
  8. If you like anything by Ellen Hopkins (particularly Identical), read Drowning Instinct by Ilsa Bick.  I can’t place why Drowning Instinct is such a good read-alike for Hopkins, but I think it’s the way they handle really dark stuff.  There’s also the fact that Drowning Instinct and anything Hopkins writes translate well to audio book (for me).
  9. If you like Half-Blood by Jennifer Armentrout or Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, read Whirl by Emma Raveling.  There is something about these three books that remind me of the others- I think it’s the main characters who are similar to me.
  10. If you like An Ember In The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir, read Ink And Bone by Rachel Caine.  There is something about these two worlds and how much control the Empire (for Ember) and the Library (for Ink And Bone) have that make them a great pairing.
Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read If You Like…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s